Board of Directors


The Baltimore’s Promise Board of Directors is composed of philanthropic, education, business, and civic leaders from across the region. The Board is overseen by two Co-Chairs and a Vice Chair, and is governed by by-laws that took effect in Summer 2014. The Board is the ultimate decision-making body of the partnership; the Board will consider recommendations provided by Baltimore’s Promise staff, community stakeholders, and Work Groups to set the strategic course of action for the partnership. The Board uses its meaningful influence to help strategically direct resources to Baltimore’s Promise, rally public support for the partnership’s efforts, and advocate for action throughout the City.

  • Franklyn D. Baker, President & CEO, United Way of Central Maryland
  • Diane Bell-McKoy, CEO, Associated Black Charities
  • John Brothers, President, T. Rowe Price Foundation
  • Ronald Daniels, President, Johns Hopkins University
  • Robert Embry, President & CEO, Abell Foundation
  • Donald C. Fry, President, Greater Baltimore Committee
  • Matthew Gallagher, President & CEO, Goldseker Foundation
  • Mark and Traci Lerner, Founding Partner, Chesapeake Partners
  • Patrick McCarthy, President & CEO, The Annie E. Casey Foundation
  • Rachel Garbow Monroe, President & CEO, Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation
  • Jay Perman, President, University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • The Honorable Catherine E. Pugh, Mayor, City of Baltimore
  • Brian Rogers, Chairman, T. Rowe Price
  • Sonja Santelises, CEO, Baltimore City Public Schools
  • Dennis Schrader, Secretary, Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene
  • Leana Wen, Commissioner, Baltimore City Health Department
  • Thomas Wilcox, President & CEO, Baltimore Community Foundation
  • David Wilson, President, Morgan State University

Mark Lerner and Patrick McCarthy serve as the Co-Chairs of Baltimore’s Promise.